Frequently Asked Questions
Can I legally buy cannabis from Harborside?
Everyone from around the globe who is 21 years old or older can buy cannabis products from legally Harborside. Just be sure to bring a government-issued identification (e.g. drivers license, passport, etc).
We’re also very happy to serve “medical-use” customers who, if they have a state-issued Medical Cannabis Patient Identification Card (issued by the California Department of Health Services), do not have pay California state sales tax on medical cannabis products (although the excise tax and city tax still apply).
How do I know which cannabis product will fit my specific needs?
If you’re new to cannabis, we encourage you to follow these steps:
1) Read our Cannabis Quick Start Guide,
2) View our product selection on the online menu that corresponds to the Harborside location of your choice, and
3) Visit a Harborside location in-person to speak to our team of helpful cannabis consultants. They’re eager to pair you with the products that will best fit your individual needs.
Where are you located?
What are your business hours?
Open Daily: 10am–8pm
Phone Orders: 10am–6:30pm
San Jose Location:
Open Daily: 10am–8pm
Phone Ordering: 10am–8pm
To Oakland: Daily, 10am-7pm
To Greater East Bay: Daily, 10am-4pm
To San Jose: Daily, 12-7pm
How can I speak to a Harborside customer representative?
Call us at 888-994-2726, 7 days a week, 10am-8pm.
Do you accept credit and debit cards?
While we cannot accept credit cards, you can use your debit card to make your payment at the register. You can also use our onsite ATM to withdraw funds for your purchase.
What do the letters THC, THCA, and CBD mean on your online menu?
THC stand for Tetrahydrocannabinoid and it is the psychoactive ingredient in cannabis that causes feelings of euphoria. People who seek to induce euphoric sensations seek the products with the most THC (THC+); people seeking to minimize the psychoactivity of the plant, seek lowest levels of THC (THC-)
THCA is a precursor to THC and it is listed as a reference. Many dispensaries list only one of these values (THCA) to inflate the perception that their medicine has more THC than accurate. We list both values to avoid confusion.
CBD is a different Cannabinoid than THC and has no psychoactive properties. In fact, medicine containing high levels of CBD will prevent the euphoric sensations caused by THC and it is prefered by patients who wish to avoid those sensations. Many states only allow the use of CBD cannabis.
Adult Use Regulations
When did the new laws go into effect?
California’s cannabis “adult-use” rules began on January 1, 2018 and gives everyone from around the world, who is 21 years old or older, the ability to buy cannabis without a doctor’s medical recommendation.
Do I need a medical recommendation to purchase cannabis in 2018?
No. You only need a government-issued identification card showing that you are 21 years old or over to purchase cannabis products from Harborside. That said, if you have a state-issued Medical Cannabis Patient Identification Card (issued by the California Department of Health Services), you won’t have to pay California state sales tax (although the excise tax and city tax still apply).
What do I need to bring if I am a Caregiver for a patient?
You must bring a designation of caregiver form written by the patient’s treating physician. When placing a pickup order with us please ensure that you place the order in the patients name and inform your pick up associate that you are the Caregiver.
How are taxes calculated?
Why do you have taxes when other shops do not?
Taxes are applied by the state of California and the local city government. All legal dispensary pay taxes and pass the charge to the consumer, although many of them “include” the taxes in the price displayed to the consumer. Harborside believes in transparency and we want our customers to know what portion of the cost is going to taxes. In addition, you may qualify for lower taxes if you have a valid medical recommendation or a state-issued medical-cannabis ID card. Please read How do Taxes work for more information.
How do taxes work?
There are three different taxes applied to purchases of cannabis in the State of California:
1. Excise Tax 15%
The state of California imposes a 15% excise tax on all cannabis products. There is no exceptions to this tax.
2. City Taxes 5-10%
The City of Oakland imposes a 10% tax on adult-sales Cannabis products. If the consumer has a valid medical recommendation for cannabis, the Oakland City tax is only 5%.
The City of San Jose imposes a 10% sales tax for medical and adult-use customers.
Delivery customers pay the city tax that is associated to the city to which we are delivering
3. CA Sales Tax (8-10%)
California Sales Tax varies from city to city. Each municipality can add local taxes to the standard 9.25%, and the taxapplied varies on the place of transaction, therefore delivery customers may pay a slightly different sales tax rate based on the location of the delivery. In addition, customers who have a state-issued Medical Cannabis Patient Identification card (Issued by the Department of Health Services), do not have pay sales tax on Medical Cannabis products (although the Excise tax, and the City tax still apply).
What is the daily limit that I can purchase in 2018?
California state law allows adult-use customers to purchase up to one ounce (28.5 grams) of cannabis flower, eight grams of concentrated cannabis, and six clones (immature plants) per day.
Medical Use customers can purchase up to eight ounces of flower, eight grams of concentrated cannabis, and 12 clones (immature plants) per day.
Are there new potency and dosage limits to edible products in 2018?
Yes. For adult-use sales, no single edible package can contain more than 100mg of THC. Edible products must also contain no more than 10mg THC per serving.
If cannabis is legal in 2018, am I allowed to consume in public?
No. Most public spaces prohibit smoking or vaping cannabis products. This includes Harborside’s parking lot.
How much cannabis am I allowed to carry with me?
You can carry one ounce of non-concentrated cannabis (flower) and eight grams of concentrated cannabis.
How much cannabis am I allowed to gift to someone?
You can gift one ounce of non-concentrated cannabis (flower) and eight grams of concentrated cannabis at one time.
Is there any change to the driving laws in 2018?
No. Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal and dangerous.
Are there any other useful references that I should be aware of?
Let’s Talk Cannabis (California Dept. of Public Health)
Senate Bill No. 94, Sess of 2017
California Business and Profession Code 26001
California Health and Safety Code Section 11362.715
Ordering for Delivery
How does Delivery Work?
Harborside offers free delivery to residences and work locations within cities that allow adult-use cannabis sales. See below for a complete list of cities, and minimum order quantities.
Due to regulations, we are unable to deliver to certain cities in the Bay Area. That said, we do regularly monitor city-based regulation changes specific to cannabis delivery, and we will continue to expand our delivery area when possible. Please reach out to a customer care representatives at 888-994-2726 for more information.
Please note that during special sales events delivery times might be delayed and cut-off times may change due to high demand. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Delivery Areas, Schedule, Minimum Orders
When is delivery available?
24 hr Online Ordering: Oakland and San Jose (some resrictions may apply).
Call center (888) 99-Harborside (1-888-994-2726):
Oakland Call Center Hours: 10am – 8:00pm
San Jose Call Center Hours: 11am – 8:00pm
Please note that during high volume sales events (such as 4/20), waiting times may be longer than usual.
What are my Payment Options?
We accept the following forms of payment:
- Cash (please have close to exact change as drivers do not carry large bills for safety reasons)
- Debit cards (please note that we no longer accept Mastercard debit)
- CanPay (download the CanPay App and pay using your phone)
- Cashier’s check or money order.
Unfortunately, we cannot accept:
- Personal Checks
- Credit cards
- MasterCard debit cards
Cannabis Delivery Safety Guidelines
- Drivers retain the right to refuse service to anyone.
- Abuse of the service or our staff will result in denial of service.
- Drivers carry no products other than your cannabis delivery.
- Drivers will only complete deliveries during daylight hours.
- Driver vehicles have security cameras and are tracked via GPS through security headquarters.
- Maximum order is one ounce of flower or eight grams of concentrate or edibles, or an equal combination of those items and quantities. Certain restrictions can apply.
- Drivers will only deliver to a residence, your work, or hotel where you are checked in.
- Addresses and contact numbers will be verified.
- Delivery drivers will not be in uniform or driving in a marked car for safety purposes.
- Drivers are randomly and anonymously followed by our trained safety personnel to ensure best practices.
- Deliveries are packaged in special exit bags. All items are sealed.
- Please restrain dogs and other animals.
What do I need to receive delivery?
All that is required is a valid government-issued identification showing that you are at least 21 years of age. Accepted forms of identification include a state-issued driver’s license/ID card, passport, birth certificate, social security card, etc.
What is your return policy on deliveries?
Due to adult-use regulations, we cannot accept returns on cannabis products except that are defective, such as a vape cartridge that do not work. If you experience a defective product, we will replace the non-working item with a functioning item. Refunds cannot be issued for defective products. Partial credit may be issued for partially used vape cartridges.
Do you deliver Clones?
Unfortunately, we do not deliver cannabis clones at this time.
Ordering for Pick Up
When will my order be ready for pick up?
Clients will receive a text message when the order is ready for pick up. We recommend waiting for the “Order is Ready” confirmation before heading to the pick-up counter.
How long will you hold my order?
Your order will be held 24 hours from the time the order is placed.
Where do I pick up my order?
Once you’re inside a Harborside retail location, look for signage that will direct you to the pickup counter.
Can someone else pick up my order?
Yes! For adult-use orders, you can ask someone else to pick up your purchase, but they must show government-issued identification that verifies that they are 21 years or older, not exceed daily purchase limit, and pay for the order.
For medical-use orders, only a designated caregiver may pick up your order. The caregiver must show government-issued identification that verifies that they are 21 years or older, not exceed daily purchase limit, and pay for the order
Can I return a purchase at the pick up counter?
Unfortunately we cannot process exchanges or returns at the pick up counter. To make an exchange for a defective item, you must speak with a manager.
Can I cancel my order?
If you need to cancel your order, please call us at 888-994-2726, respond to the text notification you received, or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org with the word “cancel” in the subject line and we will cancel the order
How long do you hold an order?
We hold orders until the end of the day the order was placed. Please let us know if you will be unable to pick up your order.
Can I make changes to my order when I come to pick it up?
If you need to make a change to your order when you get to the pick up counter, we will accomodate as possible. However, we cannot have consultation or allow you to make selections at the pick up counter. If you need to ask questions or wish to inspect the products to make a decision, please visti our regular sales counter.